Beneath a Scarlet Sky ebook Ü↠ citybreakscheap

reader Beneath a Scarlet Sky

❰Epub❯ ➟ Beneath a Scarlet Sky Author Mark T. Sullivan – Citybreakscheap.co.uk Based on the true story of a forgotten hero Beneath a Scarlet Sky is the triumphant epic tale of one young man’s incredible courage and resilience during one of history’s darkest hours Pino LellaEpub Beneath a Scarlet Sky Author Mark T Sullivan Citybreakscheapcouk Based on the true story of a forgotten hero Beneath a Scarlet Sky is the triumphant epic tale of one young man’s incredible courage and resilience during one of history’s darkest hours Pino Lella Based on the true story of a forgotten hero Beneath a Scarlet Sky is the triumphant epic tale of one Beneath a ePUB young man’s incredible courage and resilience during one of history’s darkest hours P

book ✓ Beneath a Scarlet Sky È Mark T. Sullivan

Ino Lella wants nothing to do with the war or the Nazis He’s a normal Italian teenager—obsessed with music food and girls—but his days of innocence are numbered When his family home in Milan is destroyed by Allied bombs Pino joins an underground railroad helping Jews escape over the Alps and falls for Anna a beautiful widow six years his seniorIn an attempt to protect him Pino’s parents force him to enlist as a German soldier—a move they think will keep him out of combat But after Pino is injured he is recruited at the tender age

Mark T. Sullivan È Beneath a Scarlet Sky kindle

Beneath a Scarlet SkyOf eighteen to become the personal driver for Adolf Hitler’s left hand in Italy General Hans Leyers one of the Third Reich’s most mysterious and powerful commandersNow with the opportunity to spy for the Allies inside the German High Command Pino endures the horrors of the war and the Nazi occupation by fighting in secret his courage bolstered by his love for Anna and for the life he dreams they will one day shareFans of All the Light We Cannot See The Nightingale and Unbroken will enjoy this riveting saga of history suspense and love

Beneath a Scarlet Sky ebook Ü↠ citybreakscheap Mark T Sullivan b is an author of thrillers Born in a Boston suburb he joined the Peace Corp Beneath a ePUB Ã after college traveling to West Africa to live with a tribe of Saharan nomads Upon returning to the United States he took a job at Reuters beginning a decade long career in journalism that would eventually lead to a job as an investigative reporter for the San Diego TribuneSullivan spent th.

10 Comments on "Beneath a Scarlet Sky ebook Ü↠ citybreakscheap"

  • Philip

    Beneath a Scarlet Sky ebook Ü↠ citybreakscheap Beneath a Scarlet Sky2ish starsBased on the experiences of Pino Lella an unsung WWII hero the events at the heart of this book are incredible and inspiring Sullivan though obviously well meaning presents them here in what is or less a bloated commercialized color by number hagiographySomehow present at just about as many significant events during WWII as one can be Pino deftly overcomes every obstacle in his path While again incredible and inspiring there's not much in the way of tension or suspense especially for a book styled as a WWII thriller The pacing is inconsistent; some horrific gut wrenching events are bizarrely skimmed over while other insignificant ones are unnecessarily drawn out I suppose all of these things can be forgiven there are only so many libertie


  • Emily May

    Beneath a Scarlet Sky ebook Ü↠ citybreakscheap Beneath a Scarlet Sky2 12 stars This was nowhere near as engaging as I would expect from a book that has a 44 average rating over 48000 readersThe strength of Beneath a Scarlet Sky comes from it's exploration of the Italian experience under Mussolini during the Second World War I know almost nothing about what happened here despite having read A LOT of books and memoirs set during this time I've read countless tales about the Germans Polish the British and the Americans so it was extremely refreshing to get a new perspectiveAlso Sullivan interview


  • Always Pouting

    Beneath a Scarlet Sky ebook Ü↠ citybreakscheap Beneath a Scarlet SkyI know I've been gone but I'm back now so don't worry I'll be clogging your feeds with my garbage reviews again now I already started reading my next bookA semi biographical story about an Italian teenager Pino Lella who is sent to a convent after Allied forces airstrike destroys his home in Milan At the convent he helps the priest smuggle out Jews to Switzerland who have come there for help He meets and falls in love with Anna an older widow Eventually he is called home and made to join the army for protection Eventually he uses his position in


  • Katie

    Beneath a Scarlet Sky ebook Ü↠ citybreakscheap Beneath a Scarlet SkyOne feature of every hugely engaging novel is that it’s palpable throughout that the author has invested a great deal of heart and imagination into the narrative This is far from always the case There’s sometimes a sense an author is fulfilling a contractual obligation or is never uite inspired by hisher characters or story This is one of those novels where it’s obvious the author has thrown himself heart and soul into his material and achieved an imaginative identification with its hero so intense that he i


  • Liz

    Beneath a Scarlet Sky ebook Ü↠ citybreakscheap Beneath a Scarlet SkyThis is a fascinating book about WWII in Italy I’ve read so much about Northern Europe during the war but this is the first book about what took place in Italy It follows the story of a real life teenager beginning in 1943 when he guides Jews over the mountain pass to Switzerland and t


  • jessica

    Beneath a Scarlet Sky ebook Ü↠ citybreakscheap Beneath a Scarlet Skywhat a comfort it is to know that even in the most desperate and tragically unfathomable of circumstances courage and love are possible and can be found but what i enjoyed most about this story is how it educated me on the impact of WWII in italy italy is rarely the focus for novels on the subject even though the jewish community of italy was greatly affected it is hardly ever talked about due to the massive destruction of documents and records as well as the collective amnesia of italians the unwillingness to remember and talk about their struggles after the war so how fortunate is it that stories like this stories about the braveness and resilience of the italian people in the face of true horror are finally being shared and i feel rather heartless giving a book with that sort of gravity anything less than 5 stars but i was very let down when it came to the writing and the way the story is told i would have much rather heard the story told from pino himsel


  • LeAnne: GeezerMom

    Beneath a Scarlet Sky ebook Ü↠ citybreakscheap Beneath a Scarlet SkyMy 14 year old is a military history buff and I'm pretty sure he will enjoy this simple work of historical fiction set in WWII Italy Me Not so much GOOD STUFF I learned that groups of Italians loosely organized by priests and archbishops of the Catholic church were active in smuggling Jewish refugees over the Alps and into Switzerla


  • Dorie - Cats&Books :)

    Beneath a Scarlet Sky ebook Ü↠ citybreakscheap Beneath a Scarlet SkyThis is a 3 12 rounded up to a 4 because the story is about a real person and there is some good history here and obvious meticulous research I thought the writing was good and it flowed well but editing would definitely have helped There was too much detailed information about every single trip that Pino drove for the General There also seemed to be a lot of close calls in situations that Pino found himself in I would like to know if this is all true or based on memoryThis review is going to be short because it's an older library book and there are tons of reviews already out there My favorite part of the novel are the early years helping Fr Re take many refugees people across the mountains to freedom In this secti


  • Elisabeth

    Beneath a Scarlet Sky ebook Ü↠ citybreakscheap Beneath a Scarlet SkyThe story of Pino Lella is amazing The writing of Mark Sullivan is dreadful It reads like it was written by a sixth


  • Terri Lynn

    Beneath a Scarlet Sky ebook Ü↠ citybreakscheap Beneath a Scarlet SkyThis was beautifully written The events really happened but the author had to add conversations that the subject obviously could not remember decades later word for word I liked seeing the Holocaust from the viewpoint of what happened in Italy Most books include little if anything about the suffering that both Mussolini and Hitler wreaked on Italians both Jews and non Jews An amazing book I highly recommend